Mogwai Announce New Album ‘Every Country’s Sun’ And Share New Single

Photo by Brian Sweeney

Scottish post-rock heroes Mogwai have announced the coming of a new record called Every Country’s Sun, to be released this autumn on September 1st. The album contains 11 tracks and is produced by David Fridmann, who also produced Come On Die Young (1999) and Rock Action (2001). Every Country’s Sun will be released on the band’s own Rock Action label, in cooperation with Temporary Residence (US) and Spunk Records (Australia).

Together with this news the band release a new single named Coolverine, a meandering, shimmering instrumental that you can listen to below. The track itself spans 6 minutes and is distinct in its understated nature, slowly building up through different layers, but never really going through the roof. All in all it feels like the perfect soundtrack to sitting on your back porch, with the sun setting and  the city’s buzzing sounds fading in and out of the range of your sensory perception.

Every Country’s Sun is available for pre-order through the band’s website, coming in a varied array of formats; CD, vinyl, or a box set. The boxset contains a CD, heavyweight white double vinyl, download coupon and a limited edition 12″ containing 6 album demos. Boxset and LP orders from the Mogwai webshop will include a 12 x 12 inch screen print signed by the band members.

Tags from the story
More from Robert Westerveld

Sun Worship – Pale Dawn

It might be strange to start a Sun Worship review talking about...
Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *